HOME REVIEWS AUTHOR FINAL EXITS Q & A GALLERY TOUR ONLINE STORE CONTACT
GENIUS AND HEROIN
PORTABLE OBITUARY
FINAL EXITS


 

Genius and Heroin:Why are so many creative geniuses also ruinously self-destructive?.
Will be released in October, 2008, published by .
Order AdvanceCopies NOW!
ORDER NOW


"Michael Largo Is A Curator Of Death... you will enjoy the detailed descriptions of suicide, overdose, and otherwise untimely demise"
— Esquire

"Largo has now become the Capote of kaput"
— Atlanta Journal Constitution

"Absurdly entertaining"
— Los Angeles Times


Meticulous, Fascinating, and often intriguingly bizarre.... I am full of admiration for Michale Largo's achievement.

- Simon Winchester, Author of The Professor and the Madman

"Genius and Heroin makes for mad good reading on the divinely inspired, hopelessly self-destructive class."

— Elle

"For the obsessive-compulsive teen in everyone."

— Publisher's Weekly


"Largo reveals the secrets of the celebrated dead!
- Miami Herald


I love it!
- Narendra Narayana


Genius and Heroin:Why are so many creative geniuses also ruinously self-destructive?.
Will be released in October, 2008, published by .
Order AdvanceCopies NOW!
ORDER NOW


"Michael Largo Is A Curator Of Death... you will enjoy the detailed descriptions of suicide, overdose, and otherwise untimely demise"
Esquire

"Largo has now become the Capote of kaput"
Atlanta Journal Constitution

"Absurdly entertaining"
Los Angeles Times


Meticulous, Fascinating, and often intriguingly bizarre.... I am full of admiration for Michale Largo's achievement.

- Simon Winchester, Author of The Professor and the Madman

"Genius and Heroin makes for mad good reading on the divinely inspired, hopelessly self-destructive class."

Elle

"For the obsessive-compulsive teen in everyone."

Publisher's Weekly


"Largo reveals the secrets of the celebrated dead!
- Miami Herald


I love it!
- Narendra Narayana


The Portable Obituary: How the Famous, Rich and Powerful Really Died.
Will be released in September 2007, published by .
Order Advance Copies NOW!
ORDER NOW


This book is a fun roundup of a lot of lives, and a handy companion for those times when you're wondering, "Whatever happened to...?"

- The Associated Press


"The Portable Obituary: How the Famous, Rich and Powerful Really Died" (HarperCollins, $14.95) is odd and oddly interesting. It seems author Michael Largo has made something of a hobby, or perhaps an obsession, collecting at times arcane information on death styles. He's also author of "Final Exits: The Illustrated History of How We Die." This is the kind of book that raises questions you might not think to ask. Such as, "Who lives longer: artists or clowns?" Or, "Why do many celebrities die within two weeks of their birthdays?" At any rate, any book that twins Duane Allman in the same section as Archimedes can be said to be original
- New York Daily News


I've always had a morbid fascination with how some historical figures and celebrities died, so when I came across The Portable Obituary, I was absolutely delighted with what I found within its pages. If, like me, you have a morbid fascination for facts and trivia about the deaths of famous people, or if you're just curious about the details of some of your favorite celebrities such as Elvis Presley or Katherine Hepburn, you should definitely get this book. Michael Largo has done his research well; The Portable Obituary tells you all you ever wanted to know about how the famous, rich, and powerful really died. It's the ultimate collector's item for the morbidly curious, and countless hours will be spent with your nose stuck firmly between the pages of this book.
- BlogCritics: Betty Wong


 

Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How We Die will be released in October 2006, published by .
Order Advance Copies NOW!
 
ORDER NOW

CATEGORY: Popular Culture
ISBN: 0-06-081741-0
ISBN-13: 978006081741


Playboy  --November 2006 "Ways to Go" Featured Afterhours/Raw Data

Entertainment Weekly-- New in Paperback-Recommended October 20, 2006

MAXIM 

Deaths from A-Z --Featured

October 18, 2006

 

 “Here is a sampling of excerpts (trust us, there are tons more in this amazingly entertaining book) of the things for you to look out for if you feel the Grim Reaper creeping around your door.”

 

Chicago Sun-Times

 

Reading just one more item in Final Exits, then another, then still another, is as compulsive as eating peanuts or popcorn, and the foregoing is but a tiny sample of its frequently stunning contents. You would not believe the places human beings choose to stick small, furry animals -- quite often as their last act on this planet. To extol the practical value of his work, the author writes, "I predict that those who buy this book will gain -- at the minimum -- an average of two extra years of life." And think how much more the gain could be if they actually read it.--Roger K. Miller, a former newspaper book review editor, is a free-lance writer, reviewer and editor.

 

Chicago Tribune

Recommended  October 29, 2006

 

Kansas City Star

http://www.kansascity.com/mld/kansascity/entertainment/15913963.htm

 

Santa Cruz  Sentenil

http://www.santacruzsentinel.com/archive/2006/November/05/style/stories/02style.htm

 

Philadelphia Inquirer  10/30/06

For those looking for the most arcane methods of bucket-kicking, Final Exits has plenty of stories on tap. It's not a good idea to lick a toad, for example, because bufotenine, the animal's venom, can cause chest pains, nausea, hallucinations and (in 1,925 instances since 1958) death. Riding in a hot-air balloon, dressing in orange camouflage for deer season, and the onrush of a bowling ball have accounted for a smattering of fatalities, while one poor soul will always be remembered as the boy who suffered the literal version of Death by Chocolate.

Shock value and humor are delivered in a consistent manner thanks to side-splitting anecdotes, twitch-inducing gravestone inscriptions, and grotesque illustrations (many unearthed in voluminous archives), but Final Exits doesn't neglect the more somber overtones.

By treating his subject with genuine curiosity instead of overarching irony, Largo has fashioned a quirky gem that can be reread periodically to remind ourselves that, as folk singer Bob Gibson once sang, no matter what you do to avoid life's ultimate fate, you're "still gonna die."--- Sarah Weinman

 

Jane Magazine  See  review janemag.com  10/20/06

 

Fort Worth Star-Telegram  10/15/06

 

Ever feel like you could die of a broken heart? Apparently you can. "Nostalgia" was listed as the cause of death on 31,987 death certificates between the years 1766 and 1910. The inventor of the safety pin died of an accidental pin stick that got infected and turned gangrenous. A 19-year-old diabetic died of an overdose of chocolate (no, his blood sugar didn't get too high; he drowned in a vat of the melted stuff). And a 20-year-old man whose skin would break out in hives whenever water touched it died when he was caught in a sudden rainstorm.

Who knew death could be so fun? Writer Michael Largo did, and for 10 years he's been collecting anecdotes about quirky fatalities and statistics about the way people die. He's poured it all into his new book, Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How We Die. It's perfect Halloween reading -- just don't read the section on Halloween deaths till Nov. 1.

-- Cathy Frisinger, Special to the Star-Telegram     BOOK Review:  GRADE: A

 

Arizona Tuscon Citizen

Included in ‘Recommended New Titles’

October 5, 2006

 

Sarasota Herald Tribune "A lively look at how we die. " 

 

Mortuary Management Review

 “Funeral directors, along with medical and forensic professionals, know more about death than just about anyone, but even they could not know as much about dying as is complied in this eye-opening book Final ExitsFinal Exits will keep you engaged and entertained.

 

Quad-City Times Top nonfiction

 “Final Exits”  — A quirky, fun (but never morbid) look at the ways we die. This book is a trivia buff’s paradise and something you can buy for the person who claims he “never reads,” because he’ll read this.

 

Miami New Times
Death by heart failure, car accident, or even electrocution is so last millennium. We want to go out with a bigger, more original bang, such as spontaneous combustion (215 deaths) or roller coasters (265 deaths). But where to find a vast selection of methods of departure for our choosing? Enter Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How We Die, by Michael Largo. This well-researched companion to entrances to the afterlife offers everything you would ever want to know about kicking the bucket, from falling furniture (17,983 deaths) to masturbation (3761 annually, though usually when employing the aid of a foreign object, such as a vacuum cleaner, zucchini, or hair dryer) to frozen toilets. (Okay, really hypothermia, but wouldn’t you rather see “Frozen Toilet” on your death certificate?) 
And if you’re thinking about smoking your way to the grave via blunts and water bongs, think again. There are no known deaths from cannabis poisoning. Joey Doud 

 

Blog Crtic Book Review - Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How We Die by Michael Largo
 -- Roberta Rosenberg/Blogcritic.org.

Can someone actually die of happiness?
I didn't find happiness listed in the new book, Final Exits: The Illustrated Encyclopedia of How  We Die, but I did find hundreds of other documented ways that folks like you and me "kick the bucket", "sleep with the fishes", and "buy the farm". This is addictive, fascinating and lively reading (yes, I did say "lively") about the American way of death and dying that you're going to thoroughly enjoy.

The more advanced the technology, the more ways to kill or be killed.

Did you know that in 1700 there were less than 100 causes of death and that today there are 3,000? Me either, but you'll learn this and a lot more as Final Exits details the many ways we die. Alphabetically organized, this engaging sourcebook of death begins with a straightforward retelling of the history of "Abactio ... the medical term for abortion or premature labor induced by street drugs, herbal concoctions or homestyle surgery" and concludes with "Zoofatalism ... a psychological disorder in which the afflicted get dangerously close to wild animals or keep wild animals as pets against better judgment." (Ouch ... can you say Siegfried & Roy?) The in-between is packed with well-researched information told with a dry, wry touch.

If your interest is more macabre, you'll want to review the Serial Killers entry. Final Exits devotes three pages to the likes of Son of Sam, Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy and several other "Infamous Ass****s" (as lawmakers like to refer to them.) And yes, because I know you want to know, there is the requisite listing for Foreign Objects. Suffice it to say, you'll get a full rundown of the stuff people stuff into various body parts with the obvious lethal results. (Feel free to do your own jokes and commentary here.)

With more than 400 medical/historical photographs and artwork ... hundreds of delightfully deadly little factoids of the "final crossing" ... humorous and poignant epitaphs ... and a 46-page bibliography and source notes section, Final Exits will keep you engaged and entertained as you skim through deaths both commonplace and bizarre of folks both famous and ordinary.

Be amazed, be appalled, but by all means, have fun reading Final Exits. Look for it this October (just in time for Halloween) and have a howling good time!


“Convincing characters, brilliant dialogue...A profusion of detailed descriptions celebrate life while, thematically, Largo explores the mystery of death as transformation.” ORDER NOW

- Library Journal
“Efficient, realistic... Largo’s writing manifests relentless and unremitting nerve.”

- Publishers Weekly


  Author Tracker
Want to receive notice of books, events, promotions, and news of Michael Largo? Sign up now!
Read
 HarperCollins Privacy Policy
.
Enter your e-mail address below:

HTML Text Only


FUN FACTS & QUESTIONS






HOME
REVIEWS
AUTHOR
FINAL EXITS
Q & A
GALLERY
TOUR
ONLINE STORE
CONTACT


Copyright © 2006 All Rights Reserved.
designed by: NN